top of page

Student Perspectives


Read what students are saying about Career & Personal Development and how it has helped prepare them for their futures:

Still Living My Dream...

Since my last perspective, I’ve been able to put into practice what I’ve learned. I was able to secure a part-time job at a local law firm where I am mentored by an attorney who is also a lobbyist. Working at the law firm has exposed me to many influential people and I’ve had a chance to experience the political process of local government. I have spoken with numerous lobbyist and elected officials. One of my duties is to attend frequent meetings and hearings at the State House with my mentor. There are times when I am able to observe the House or Senate meetings to determine if the representatives are discussing a bill that concerns one of our clients. While at the Statehouse I made many contacts and talked to heads of various departments. I was even able to meet James Smith, Democratic contender for the South Carolina Gubernatorial race. I was also invited to attend receptions, fundraisers, and social gatherings where I would learn how to network with a purpose. My mentor explained to me how to interact with elected officials to learn the “rules” of lobbying. During a fundraising event, I met James Smith for the second time. Our discussion led to an invitation from Mr. Smith to work with him on his campaign during the summer. Working at the law firm with my mentor and my visits to the Statehouse have been the greatest experiences in my life and I will always value the lessons I’ve learned. - D. Brown, Class of 2018

bottom of page